Step Cautiously

By alixmarie11

Simplicity

They say the simplest things in life are the most beautiful. A baby's first words, a monarch butterfly sitting on a pedal, a kitten playing with a ball of string.

Tim took me to Burr Pond tonight. Unbelievable. I've been to my fair share of ponds, and I've seen my fair share of nights; but when we got here, it was impossible for me to say I had ever seen anything like it.

Do you think the astronauts sit and look out at the stars when they're on a mission? Would such trivial things astound them? Looking up at the sky tonight was absolutely breath-taking. I wanted to take a picture of the horizon for you, but my camera wouldn't allow me to. It was too dark for the lens I had and there was no way I could open the iris and keep the camera steady without a tripod. So instead you get to look at a picture of foliage under a bridge.

I know, not my best choice of shot, but I did not want to miss a chance of getting at least a little part of this adventure archived.

Can we also note that it is the middle of summer and we were by a pond. The mosquitoes that were there were relentless. I'm not going to lie and say that it didn't take away from the experience a little; and the fact that we forgot flashlights too and there were no sources of artificial light besides our phones but the fact that I was there with Tim, his arms wrapped around me so tightly to keep me safe, and the fact that as I looked up, I saw a whole other world, I got passed all the little mishaps and saw the wonder all around me and reminded myself that I am but a spec in the grand scheme of things.

It's funny how the tiniest things can bring me back to reality. Not reality like what's happening in my life, but the reality of what it is that we are part of. What it is that we seem to forget about. When was the last time you looked at the stars? When was the last time you spent time with a loved one outside your homes? I'm not talking about going out to dinner either. I'm talking about going out and seeing what you haven't. Seeing the wonders of the natural world.

We are so wrapped up in technology these days to even notice what is around us. Want to know why? Because novelty is impressive. Everyone knows the sky is above our heads and they know that after the sun goes down, the moon and the stars will come out. Everyone knows that clouds take many forms and are white unless it's going to rain. And oh goodness, if it rains that's even more of a pain tehe that rhymed because then you'd have to grab so many more things while walking out the door and so on and so forth.

People gripe so much about the natural world, but they hardly ever notice it. Why is it that something must look different or act differently to get our attention? Why must the moon be huge or red for us to look at it? Why do the clouds have to assume abnormal shapes in order to catch a glimpse from us? These are pictures of things that happen in our universe everyday. Granted most of us will never get a chance to see them in real life, but isn't it interesting that even though these pictures aren't novel, they are still captivating?

We take advantage of the beauty in front of us. we forget that it isn't as permanent as we would like to assume. So if anything, just notice the stars tonight. That's all I ask.

Quote:
"Life is full of beauty. Notice it. Notice the bumble bee, the small child, and the smiling faces. Smell the rain, and feel the wind. Live your life to the fullest potential, and fight for your dreams."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.