Hilton

Today's the day ........................ for a meeting in Manchester

I just love the buildings of Manchester. In fact, I find it a fascinating place altogether. Clues to its history are everywhere to be seen - maybe looking a bit shabby sometimes - but that only adds to its intrigue as far as I am concerned.

I had to go to a meeting today in the Museum of Science & Industry which involved just a short walk from Deansgate station - but in that walk I saw a fantastic street of red brick warehouses which would have been in their prime in the days of Manchester's dominance as the centre of the cotton industry. I saw the 2,000-year old excavated remains of a roman settlement which grew up beside the roman fort of Mamucium. Then, a few steps on, I looked back to see the incredible knife blade shape that is the Manchester's Hilton Hotel.

In the foreground of this picture, you might just be able to see Manchester's blue postbox. It dates from the reign of King George V (1910-1936) and for a few years it was for airmail only. However, as air services expanded rapidly, special boxes were no longer required - this one was painted blue in 1983, to commemorate the association of the Post Office with British aviation.

Like I say - everywhere you look, there's something of interest ....................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.