Five things

By fivethings

Romantic History

1. Walking along the street today I pass a busker I've heard a couple of times before. The last time he was singing Karma Police, not the most cheery of tunes for shopping. Someone must have said something similar to him, cause I heard him reply 'my girlfriend chucked me yesterday, this is all I want to sing.' Today I passed just as he finished Yoshimi Battles the Robots. It's funny, it's been on my inner juke box for a week or two. I don't have any money, I offer a 'that was nice' instead. I'm pretty sure he would rather have had the money, but till buskers take switch, compliments will just have to do.

2. I go to the Tron tonight to see My Romantic History, a play written by Daniel, who I've known for a while, and I've missed when it came before. I'm happy to meet my two favourite Daves in the bar. They both give good cuddle and make me smile.

3. The show is very cool. It makes me laugh a lot and wince a little at how scarily accurate I suspect it is. I haven't seen anything that captures the total discrepancy between two version of events and the actual truth. Yup, a great night at the theatre.

4. I try not to dwell on how freakishly close I come to that character, Amy. There's some differences - she's 33 and I'm not. She drinks white, I drink red. She's on her way to a happy ending... hold on, enough of this. At least I don't have to wear that costume to work. There we go.

5. On my way home I pass a ground floor flat - curtains open, lights on. A couple a curled up together on the couch. 'Aw' I think (both in a ram it and a that's cute way) then I notice they are both texting on their phones, not talking, well not to each other. Romance. Alive and well or consigned to history? Discuss.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.