Every photo tells a story

By 5strings1

The Tustin Building at Preston Riversway.

I have finished my first week of the course in my new job, and managed to find a blipshot just as the sun was heading very West. The Tustin Building is another building I have worked on. I can't remember if it was when I was at B.T. or sub-contracting at B.T. It seems strange to think that Preston once had a thriving port, even though we were some distance from the sea. When I was a child, my dad used to bring my sister Winefred and I down here for a morning out. They seemed to be days filled with excitement, exploring and looking at the ships tied up at the quayside. There were huge stacks of timber, which would have been deck cargo. Should weather conditions dictate, the usually less lucrative deck cargo, could be jettisoned. Hence flotsam and jetsam. My dad told me that when he was a kid, they used to go out to the sandybanks, dunes near the Atlantic Ocean, and watch the big ships passing close by. I wondered why they would pass so close to the Mullet Peninsula, and he explained that ships tended to head North first, and then head South West, in order to reduce the distance they would have to travel to cross the ocean. He said this was to cut off the "hump" of the earth. I loved my dad unconditionally and believed everything he said. It does make sense. For example, why was the Titanic so far North when she hit the iceberg? Regardless, he said that to poor uneducated Irish farmer's kids, the ocean going ships seemed to resemble floating towns. The likes of which they had never seen. Imagine today's sophisticated street-wise kids, having the same fascination. I truly am my father's son, and would also be similarly fascinated.
Adios.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.