Five things

By fivethings

The shock of the new

1. This is a close up of an original picture that hangs in my mum's living room. She has two of them, similar in style, possibly a pair. Isn't it cool?

2. The artist is Stewart McFadzean, or Stuart ? I don't know, let's call him Mr McFadzean. For as long as I can remember these pictures have been in my home living room. I must have looked at them thousands of times. I remember them framed and mounted in the 70's, 80's, 90's and now. I have gazed at them, studied them, ignored them and loved them.

3. Mr McFadzean was a colleague of my parents. Head of Art in a west coast, end of the line town not known for artistic flair. In my day he led a department of three. The other two were Mr Jack and the flame haired, Bowie mad, Mrs Hughes. As a department they had everything you could wish for your art teachers.

4. I took to Mr McFadzean though. I did my higher with him, a lone figure in a room of dafties. I learned a staggering amount in that room ? stuff I have never forgotten. Half way through the year he gave me a box of his own paints. Just gave them, to me. I was shocked and delighted in equal measure.

5. At the end of the year I won the art prize. It was called the Bert Richard Prize. Bert Richard was the previous head of art, a friend of my parents who died young. The prize was The Shock of the New; a book I use to this day and love with all my heart. Nothing compares to those paints though. They are in the drawer next to my bed. A cherished gift given by someone who believed in me, who cared about my future. He gave me something old, something borrowed. New.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.