Balcony shadow

After a grey day yesterday, I was pleased to see shadows this morning. Busy cooking for friends who are coming to supper this evening, and making something ready for us to eat tomorrow after we go grape-picking for friends.

The air is scented with fermenting grapes, the vendange (grape harvest) is going well and trailer after trailer of grapes pass through the village from early morning until darkness falls on the way to the caves.

I've just noticed from my year-ago thumbnail that it was a year ago today that we picked grapes too.

Today I'm thinking of the four miners killed in an accident near Pontardawe, near where I spent my last three years in Wales - sorrow for them and their families, anger that conditions are so dangerous in private mines and that people still have to do that kind of work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.