michigan man

By outdoorguy

A Ride at the Lake

My son Jeff and I had a date with Salma and Mel. Salma is the blue one...Mel the orange. I am the old guy...Jeff...Jeffie...JP...JPPPP...Buddy boy...is the young one. We had been trying to get out in the kayaks for about a month. He works a lot, and I have been, too.

What a day...what a week. Today was 75-80, and the lake was as still as can be. With the color of the trees reflected in the water...it made me wish I wasn't chicken to take my camera out in the boat. The water lilies are gone, along with most of the birds. The only hangers-on are the seagulls. 6-7 other people were also in their kayaks. It was so warm that there were 5-6 little kids swimming in the water. SWIMMING IN MICHIGAN IN OCTOBER? Unthinkable...Absurd...Not Real...but there they were...complete with laughs and giggles. Like music to the ears.

Jeff rode Salma like a trooper. He has only been in a kayak a few times. I hope I never have to see him go over.

After we circled the lake...we went to the neighboring city, and had us a couple of Blizzards from Dairy Queen. Me-Snickers...Jeff-Oreo. As Rachel Ray says..."DELISH!" Came home to watch our Detroit Tigers tonight. Rained out. Too bad we couldn't send Texas some of our weather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.