michigan man

By outdoorguy

Ye Olde Barn

Years ago...my wife rescued a walker with wheels from the dumpster. It was in perfect health, and even has a nifty little seat if you need a sitting break. I don't want to state their names...but, so far, 3 different people have used it. Today...we got a call from our church, and someone else needs to use it. We went out to deliver it.

Mandy...my GPS girl...had us going down a country road. "I know they live in an old white farm house," my wife said. We turned where Mandy told us to. "Please don't ask to take pictures of the barn." We got out of the car, and the man's wife came out to greet us. We talked about her husbands condition. I waited for my opening. Now...Now. "Do you mind if I take a few pictures of the barn?" My wife winced. "Sure...take anything you want."

I have a thing for barns. I'm not sure why...because I'm a city boy, and never haved lived outside the city. I like new and old barns. I like red and black and green barns. I like the barns to be made of wood, and not those snazzy new metal jobs.

I felt a little sorry for this old barn. Although it has a lot of character...it is getting a little shaky and creaky at the seams. The holes in front, and the holes in the roof...probably make for some great shadows inside...but don't do much for helping to preserve the structure.

As I took 10-12 pictures...I thought how our lives are like barns. We want to stay shiny red and air-tight forever, but, it doesn't happen. We re-paint and apply some patch that last for a good long time. Then...time and the elements take over. We lose the sheen, and the leaks start to assert themselves. I don't have to say what comes next. After finishing the photos...I was mini-depressed enough that I thought about going into the barn and kicking a cat. My sore ankle snapped me back to reality.

A great old barn whose days are probably numbered. I hope it surprises me, and stays up. I liked the close-ups enough of the front of the barn, and of the vines on the silo, to include them in the picture. Happy Monday. My Tigers just lost. Down 2 games to zero. BOO-HOO.

Twice today...in the a.m and p.m...it was 10:10:10, 10-10, 11.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.