michigan man

By outdoorguy

Another Gourd Run

I had a short day with the doctor. I picked him up at 9 a.m., dropped him at his office, and was home by 10.

On Saturday night, my oldest daughter Julie hit a good-sized doe, and did some good-sized damage to her car. I took it in to the big city (Flint) for an estimate. $ 3600 bucks ( pun intended) worth of damage. I decided to take the long way home.

First stop was a church surrounded by a cornfield. Took some close-ups of Indian Corn, and was going to spend some yarn about eating and liking the "hair" at the end of the cob. Didn't think anybody would buy it. While in the field...got some good grasshopper shots. They kind of freak me out. Not my favorite.

A driving range at a golf course was next. Got 2 good shots of a guys follow-through with the ball sailing away. I've always wanted to yell at the top of some guys back-swing. He drew the club back..."HEY!!!!" He shanked the ball, and starting rushing at my van with his 7-iron. I slammed the car into drive, peeled away, and got just a little taste of how Tiger Woods felt like when his wife chased him down the driveway. ( I really didn't do that.)

Next stop was a dairy barn in Argentine, Mi. The smell made it hard to take a few pictures. Why do they put those yellow tags in their ears? It makes them look silly, and doesn't do anything for my pictures. I thought about posting one anyway...but then remembered that I was cooking steak for supper. Poor cows.

Last stop was a pumpkin-gourd wagon. I try to drive by them, but my van just wills its way into the drive. My purchases are the ones in color. The big 2 are apple gourds, and I think the 2 on top will be painted into some kind of flower. I would say...another 5 dollars down the drain...but I love me some gourds.

Last day of our nice weather. It was great while it lasted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.