michigan man

By outdoorguy

High Fliers

I rarely get any good pictures of birds in flight. I'm usually in the wrong setting, or at the wrong zoom length. But...today I took about 30-35 shots, and 3 of them were pretty good. I had to figure out how to get them into 1 shot. A short trip to Photoshop should do the trick.

I went to a hospital that is about 12-15 miles away. Not as a patient...but as a patient photographer. There were 125-150 geese, and maybe 50 sea gulls. They were not getting along. The geese were bullying the smaller birds...so they were taking to the air quite a bit. I tried to be ready.

I heard a loud noise. I thought it was the power plant of the hospital, but it kept getting louder. The Whirly Bird came over the horizon. I should have recognized the sound. A heck-ti-copter ( I refuse to say Hell.) It was moving fast, and I had my slow camera. I got two shots. The chopper was from Henry Ford hospital in the big city...Detroit.

I love to see birds in flight...even if it the lowly sea-gull. On my way home...I tried to imagine the geese mating with the gulls. Can you imagine the size of that bird trying to dive in and steal your sandwich? SCARY.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.