Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

The Cloud is Not a Cloud

We were at the Apple/Mac store this morning at Victoria Gardens. With the release of the new operating system last week, we were working on sorting our iTunes accounts and syncing our phones, computers, and iPad. It was a little complicated and we are learning with hindsight, which is always 20/20, that opening more than one iTunes account per person is not such a good idea.

Unfortunately in the past Mr. Fun has opened more than one account. Why would he do that? Because he was having fun! And of course I have an account, and the helpful folks at Apple do recommend that we each have our own account. So our trainer, Gab, was very informative. I found the conversation about the "cloud" interesting and a bit like smoke and mirrors. I mean, "where does my stuff go when I send it to the cloud?"

So finding this article later today in the Sierra Club magazine gave a little perspective. I guess "the cloud" isn't as antiseptic as I thought. Somehow it seems like an improvement or maybe it's just smoke and mirrors. I need to think about this one.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

P.S. The grand opening of the new Apple store at Victoria Gardens is this Saturday.
P.P.S. The Sierra Club magazine was found at the Friend's of the Library Store at our favorite library which is near the Apple store.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.