What does it say about me?

What do YOU see in the picture on the left? I shan't tell you what I see, but I think it's a reflection of a quite disturbed mind!

Both images are of a section of sky where the milky way is visible, either to a camera set to high ISO on long exposure, or to a telescope. Sadly, although it would be visible in places with genuine 'dark skies', there is too much light pollution round these parts to see it, even if I let my sight adjust completely.

I have spent 4 hours in the back garden, drinking tea and sky-hopping. With the help of a nifty laser pen, I finally got the knack of genuine polar alignment tonight, which means that my scope moves correctly to whichever object I choose from the computerised handset and, more importantly, once it's aligned on an object, it tracks it correctly too. So now I have the knack of it, the next clear night we could well be into the realms of imaging properly through the scope, rather than ad-hoc on a tripod!

However, the weather report suggests tomorrow is not going to be the time for it.

I realised at half past midnight last night that I hadn't taken a photo all day and so had missed my first blip since may 19. I was a little bit peeved. However, it was because I was busy updating website and collecting testimonials from people who I have done some work for - they have said the loveliest things. It made up for feeling utterly crap yesterday and having to go back to bed in the afternoon when I hit a wall (metaphorically) and virtually collapsed (literally). Today has not been so much better, but today was more about pain, which can be managed, to an extend, with legal drugs! Also managed to get the 4th set of coursework marked - so far thats 110 folders done in 4 days. Still got scheme of work to write and a pile of admin and spreadsheet creation to do - but that's the easier, more interesting stuff. (Yes, I heard myself say "more interesting" and "spreadsheets" in the same sentence - what can I say?)

On that note, I will top up on wine and wish you good night. Tomorrow I am doing a family portrait shoot for a friend from work, so I will have to get myself organised :-)

Buenos noches.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.