michigan man

By outdoorguy

Chevy...Chevy...Chevy

The Chevrolet automobile is 100 years old. It was started in Flint, Mi., which is about 16.5 miles north of my house. 2 local dealers announced that they were going to have a mini-car show of all the old Chevys. I stopped by the dealer who is a couple of miles from my house.

I don't know what I was expecting. Maybe 100 cars-one for every year of existinence. I think there was 15. I was expecting baseball, hot dogs, apple pie, and Chevrolet. There was cider and doughnuts, and the doughnuts were plain. Who serves plain doughnuts? They advertised old collectibles. There were 2 small displays.

The fire engine is a 1942 model. The off-white grill is a 1948, and the green grill is a 1955. Remember when cars had hood ornaments? The one on the green hood is a beauty..like a sleek airplane. The display in the right corner is 50 years of Corvettes. They are the size of Matchbox cars, and the display is for sale. 500 smackers, and it's yours. The last car in the background is the Camaro pace car for this years Indianapolis 500.

The few cars did bring out some memories for me. I had a 1985 Camaro that I bought from my sister. I thought I was hot stuff before everyone reminded me that our grandma drove one for years. There was also an old Corvair. A buddy had one, and before you could get in for a ride..you had to empty your pockets of any and all change. Those coins kept us rolling.

I also had 2 Monte Carlos, a big Chevy van, and a small Chevy wagon. I hope the Chevy doesn't go the way of the Pontiac, and stays around. A lot of memories. 206,000 miles on that Chevy van. It took me and my trip-mates all over this country. Good times..Good times....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.