Yellowstone to Yukon Semester!

Today our group broke up and rearranged again. This was our last day together as a group with Casey, my friend and co-instructor on the far right.

Spending several weeks teaching together and running this course in the backcountry, sharing big responsibilities, and sharing little things too, like the same small tent. Well, you get to become real close real quickly like that. You have to, and it is certainly no different with Casey and I and the rest of the group.

Last night we had a huge goodbye feast and then sat around the fire passing around a bundle of burning sage and telling our favorite moments and stories from our time as a group together. Oh, and I almost forgot to say there was a bear and two cubs in our camp yesterday too! Anyways it was a great wrap up to our time together and we'll all miss her and hope we stay in touch.

I drove her just down to the U.S. - Canada line where she walked across to meet our boss Rob who picked her up on his motorcycle - yeah he's a pretty awesome boss. I waved goodbye from the Canada side and then they were gone on a motorcycle adventure through east Glacier and the front ranges. Beautiful country.

Tomorrow I drive everyone hundreds of miles north on my own to Banff National Park where I'll meet my new co-instructor, Steve for my last leg of the semester. For now, this is us!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.