RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Beach Derby

It seemed like such a good idea when I signed up to race in the Beach Derby Obstacle Course at Huntington Beach. It was a warm sunny Southern California afternoon and the web photos of swimsuit clad runners made it look like my kind of race.

Race day dawned cold and wet. By the time my race started, rain was coming down in sheets and the 100 or so hardy soles who had decided to run in the sucky weather were soaked to the skin before the gun went off. Here I am coming through one of the obstacles about half way along the course, shot by my supportive wife who braved an extreme soaking of her own to record my participation. Even though I was only in it for fun, I couldn't help myself and raced hard to finish first in my wave, third overall.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.