Off Centre

By RachelCarter

Finger-istice Day

Today was a week since I chopped into my finger, whilst cutting peppers. Richard had taken the bigger kids to guitar lessons and I was at home with Tess and the dog, and some knives...

He came home to find me swaying, bleeding and holding my hand above my head
(and a small piece of finger - still attached to the nail - in the half-chopped peppers... YUM...)

This evening I found myself in the kitchen with the same knives and some peppers at the same time on the same day and couldn't help but find it very funny. So I took a photo.
I have been scared of chopping all week and have been holding a knife oddly. It's the first day I haven't had to wear a finger dressing or plaster and I'm determined to get my finger working again.

I'm thinking of dropping out of NaNoWriMo now. I don't want to be any more unavailable to people this month than I already am, and OU and other stuff has taken a big enough chunk of our lives.

One of my tutors last year called me amazingly determined, after I carried on with 2 courses even when I got seriously behind - after our son had a head injury - and I didn't ask for help or extra time. I had never thought of myself as determined before because I change my mind about things and my direction a lot. But he's right. If I know somethings worth sticking at I do stick at it. If it's not I don't.

Here's my take on Armistice Day today:
rachelcarter.me/2011/11/11/window/




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.