Northsea

By Northsea

Lights, camera, action! Lights! Lights!

Action packed day with numerous army heck points to get through after the soviet breakfast at the famous Baron Hotel. Syria has a desperate shortage of diesel so every petrols station has trucks waiting for days in line to be next when the tanker finally arrives. A quick and cheap tank of benzine sees me head east to Lake Assad and into the desert to see the Roman ruins.
All was going well until sun down . I had planned to take a short cut through the hills to get to Palmyra. In the dark however I must have missed a turn as the road gets worse and worse until I am crossing rivers and bouncing out of pot holes a foot deep. Something shorts in my headlight and the ignition start to heat up with the conector not earthing it burns out leaving me all of a sudden with no lights while doing 70 along the holed road. A screetched skid stop later and I am trying to hold the wire in place but its burning my fingers. Unhitching one of the lights and gaffering the rest together solves the problem but in the meantime I am 170km from where I should be and about 20km from Iraq!
A change of direction sees me emerge from the desert and arrive at my destination just before midnight. Its been a long day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.