stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

Sweetie Heaven!

Well, I did it D.!

:- )


Tonight's blip was more about getting the shot than the shot itself.

I'm really quite a quiet, shy, retiring type and the thought of walking up to a complete stranger and asking to take their photograph just sends me into a cold sweat and I have much respect for those that can do it. So tonight's mini challenge was to break another of my photographic taboo's and overcome the fear of asking...

After wandering into Henleys the other day for my sweetie blip I decided that this would be my subject. I was in luck. As I approached I noticed that there was just the single assistant in the shop, so I quickly took the opportunity and went in.

Of course, I wasn't going to just blurt out "Can I take a photo?" I thought a paying customer would have a much better chance, so I asked for a quarter (well actually 100g) of floral gums. Then came the moment...

If anyone out there remembers The Numskulls from the Beano, I'm sure they'll have the picture in their head. For the younger generation, think Homer Simpson having a chat with his brain.

"Is there anything else?" My head screamed "No, thanks." but unbelievably my mouth blurted out, "Well, this might seem a little strange, but would you mind if I took some photo's of the jars?"

It was at this point the plan went to pot! Not only did a couple walk into the shop at that moment, but another assistant came out from the back room. Noooo... The other girl turned to her and said "This guy is wanting..." Noooooooo... I have no idea what she said after that as I'm sure I was doing a helluva Basil Fawlty "Cybil's caught me, panic" face. Could you not just have said "no". Everyone was looking at me. "You won't be using this for commercial purposes, will you?" I mean what sort of sensible question is that to ask?!!! "No, it's just.. for.. me.." Hahaha, what a lame thing to say. She took pity on me though. "Okay".

Phew... I'm sure my face had only turned the palest shade of crimson as I fumbled the camera out of the bag, put it up to my eye, held my breath took four quick snaps and hurredly turned and fled the scene, calling " Thanks!" behind me as I went. I did here a, "No problem" behind me. I was out!

I guess it's all about baby steps, but give me a nice landscape to do any day of the week!

Good call to miss the "coffee and cake" celebrations yesterday. Was hearing all about it when I got in this morning. Apparently the three managers responsible for the project were called up to stand by the MD and receive aforced hearty round of applause from the staff that have been brow beaten and bullied jolly lucky to have been part of the project!

The interweb is still a bit flaky tonight - it's now taken me 3 hours to get this up through the intermediate cut outs - soooo frustrating and while I've managed to catch up with some, I'm still way behind. Sorry!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.