Bright Light, Dark Room

By ellies

Bowderdale

On the second day of my little holiday, I went for a walk from Ravenstonedale up into the Howgills. If you are driving south down the M6, or coming down the west coast mainline, you come down from Penrith, over Shap summit, and then towards Kendal. The Howgills are the fells you pass among before reaching Kendal/Oxenholme.

It rained as I was setting out and I nearly turned back, but am glad I didn't as I made it up Green Bell, Randy Gill Top (howsat for a name?) and Kenscriff, then down into Bowderdale. This is the view from Bowderdale looking back at where I'd been. From the bottom of Bowderdale I walked back to Ravenstonedale through the fields. All in all I was out for about seven and a half hours and loved it - it's ages since I'd been out for a 'proper' walk, and it felt good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.