Always inconstant...

By bikeyPete

Wide awake

I eagerly set out to meet my friends for a ride this morning. The wind had been howling all night and the rain had lashed the windows. It was still windy but the thrill of battling it for many miles filled me.

It didn't last long, once we had met and started off there was soon a calamity when one of the guys came crashing down!! Once I had assessed him and gotten him back on his bike I bumped into other cycling buddies, we chatted and they invited me to go with them. My other friend, safe and sound by now, encouraged me to go and we had a simply wonderful ride.

After a good many miles and tea/cake I was back home and out on my mountain bike catching up with the Local action.

After some time I found myself outside the Amazing Ely Cathedral, inside I could hear the most wonderful singing. I dumped the bike and went in. The acoustics in that place are incredible, the Choir were practicing for a Christmas concert, it was most enchanting.

I stood for some time lost in the sounds and atmosphere of that special place, feeling very xmassy!!

With no lights on my bike I had to leave soon and the spell was broken, I left feeling stirred to my very soul. I have no religious ways but can understand why people would in there!!

Anyway, a wonderful day...... alive and wide awake.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.