stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

Eleventy-First Blip

"I don't know half of you
half as well as I should like;
and I like less than half of you
half as well as you deserve."

~ J.R.R. Tolkien


As word play goes, this ranks among the best. I love the ambiguity, which to this day still generates discussion to it's meaning. Personally, I like to think both sides represent veiled compliments, and that is the way it is intended here.

It's rare for things to fall into place but tonight they have. It's the end of a week which has had its ups and downs, starting low and ending on a high. It's also a week in which I have come to realise that no matter how bad things get you are almost always never alone and there are so many wonderful people willing to offer support and advice. Which brings me nicely to Tolkien's passage.

While I have come to know something of most of you through your journals and your comments on mine, it's certainly true to say that at a young eleventy-one blips old I still know few of you as much as I would like. This has not been true of everyone this week though and for a few of you (you know who you are) I couldn't possibly extend enough, my appreciation for your words of support and your friendship. You most certainly deserve all I can give and more!

To everyone, I offer a dram of friendship. The Quaich is the traditional cup from which visitors are offered a warm welcome and a fond farewell as they continue on their journey.

Heh, I realise that tonight's blip is a little unusual, even for me, so in recognition of this I have changed the name of the journal. I hope you all continue to enjoy my stuff & nonsense!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.