stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

The Catch!

I love the coast. I love the seaside. I love the sights, the sounds and the smells. I'm happiest when I'm by the sea. Being an island race, it shouldn't really come as a surprise that the sea is in our blood and in many ways is our lifeblood!

So, today I took another wander down to Portobello beach. It was what we call... bracing!!! But it was busy. People walking. People running. People with dogs. People with people. As I wandered down the promenade my mind was on one of my usual suspect shots. And I got them. And I was going to blip one of them. However, as I walked back up, on my way home there was an awful commotion going on as this couple tried to eat their chips, accompanied by a flock of gulls. By the time I got close to them, the woman had given up and had stepped away from the wall but her man persevered. The brass neck of these birds was amazing. I just had to... Couldn't let the opportunity pass me by...

I asked him if it would be ok to take some shots. He said yes!!! A red letter day indeed!

Unfortunately I had completely the wrong lens on and I didn't want to faff about changing it. None of the shots I took really did justice to the amazing scene before my eyes and so I decided to go close instead. As I was going through the images I couldn't believe my luck. The chap had been throwing some chips out along to wall for the few gulls that had landed and were edging slowly closer to him. However, this one along with many others, was hovering in wait and grasped a thrown morsel straight out of the air before swooping away, followed by a group of his pals! I had no idea I'd managed to capture that moment...

Pure, dumb luck, but I'm not going to let it pass!

Tracy, I can't believe I managed to get one of these before you! Consider the challenge gauntlet well and truly thrown! ;- )

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.