Diary Of A Sinner

By ArchieDog

Day Three

My name is Archie and I am a sinner.

Well yesterday afternoon at the pet store was a great experience for me.
Maybe not so great for the Nippy Wee wifie who felt a little frazzled by the whole thing.

It was so exciting to be in the pet store. People, toys, dogs, lots of stuff to snuffle about in, children and small fluffy creatures that were just begging to be disemboweled.

I stood patiently while Nippy Wee Wifey fitted me up with a harness, selected a slip leash and chose a treat bag for my training treats. Apparently the leash and bag are for something called "obedience class" and I'm going there next week.
We went though a selection of toys until NWW found one that got my undivided attention - a squeaky ball.

A small girl followed me around the store trying to pet me and it frustrated NWW no end trying to keep us apart. I hung my head in shame as NWW told the girls parents about my dodgy history. The parents warned the wee girl not to disturb me but she kept coming back - again and again.
I pretty much ignored her and she redoubled her efforts to get my attention.
Finally she came back with dog treats. She came running up without warning, lunged past NWW who was down on the ground beside me and poked me in the head with a dog biscuit.
I jumped up at the wee girl and she flew backwards in shock - unharmed. Nippy Wee Wifie was aghast and I instantly realised I had made a mistake and lay down.
The wee girl told me I was a naughty dog but NWW backed me up and told the girl to go back to her parents and leave me alone.

After the pet store I had to stay in the car and guard it while NWW went to buy some groceries.
Once we got home I got to play with the squeaky ball. At first I was too excited to give it up and it had to be forcefully removed from my jaws.
We spent ten minutes or so playing a game of "leave it" and then NWW put the ball away and told me that I was far too manic to play with it on my own. Apparently it will only come out again on special occasions.
Can't wait for that.

Nippy Wee Wifie didn't fall asleep on the settee last night. Instead she went upstairs to the lovely comfy bed that I'm not allowed on. I stayed in my crate and whined a bit until she came back downstairs and switched the lights off. Callous bitch...
I settled down to sleep after discovering that NWW had left a pair of pyjama bottoms draped on top of my crate and dragging them through the bars. Lovely and comfy they were too.

This morning we got into our routine of stable duties then a walk. This time I was made to stay in the car and watch the goings on. Apparently this will "do me good" to learn to sit quietly.
I sat quietly indeed, heartbroken to see Border1 and Border2 swanning around like they owned the place and flirting with a Border Collie bitch.

Once the chores were over Border2 and I had a walk in the woods. My new harness makes a big difference to my sore throat. It doesn't make me cough so much when I'm running about.
We parted company and then NWW and I did a circular walk ending up back at the stable yard.

That's when I met the Labradors.
They belong to the farm owner and they were loose in the yard when we arrived. Both of them came bouncing up to me seemingly friendly but I couldn't help snarling and swearing at them.
Nippy Wee Wifie calmly strung me up on my harness out of harms way and let me dangle there on tiptoe, all frothing, snarling teeth and spittle while the Labradors had a sniff. Then she put me behind a wooden gate and I swore at the Labradors until something more interesting took my eye.
We agreed to an uneasy truce as and ignored each other when I walked back out into the yard.

Breakfast was a miserable affair. NWW had delicious smelling fried ham and I got nothing. Totally ignored.
After the greedy madam had eaten her fill I got a handfull of biscuits - in the box.

So, it seems like there's a bit of a routine going on here - at least in the mornings.

I overheard NWW telling someone that she was going out to dinner tonight and I would be spending some time on my own - in the box.

Not sure how this is going to play out or how I'm going to feel about being totally alone for the first time.


I'll let you know tomorrow.











Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.