Diary Of A Sinner

By ArchieDog

New Home - Day Seven

My name is Archie and I am a sinner.

We had a relatively quiet day today.
Stable duties and a wee walk in the woods.

Nippy Wee Wifie was a wee bit concerned that I would be a bit fired up after my exciting time last night.
She watched me carefully as Border2 came up to greet me.
I was sweetness and light. No snipping or snarling.
To prove it Border2 sat close to me and I posed happily for photographic evidence.

Our walk today took on a new twist. Instead of walking through the woods back to the village with Border2 we walked uphill, alone.

That gave NWW lots of opportunities for calling me back and doing "wait" exercises.
I was rewarded with games of "jump over the logs" It was great fun and NWW resolved to try that game again when she has her SLR camera with her. Apparently shutter lag on her wee compact makes it difficult to catch the action at the decisive moment.

I had to stay in the house in the evening when NWW went to bring the horses in.
I wasn't too pleased about that - especially as I was put in the crate.

When she returned, NWW heard me barking - I had heard her car pulling up - and instead of coming into the house she waited outside.
And waited, and waited.

She was waiting for me to shut up so that she could come indoors. She doesn't want to "reward" my barking by coming in to greet me.
After a while I quietened down and she walked in and ignored me. I was all tail wagging welcome, desperate to be out of the crate, but she acted as if I didn't exist until I lay quietly. THEN she let me out.

So much to learn, so many rules, so much to adjust to.

But today marked my first week with her.

Of all the homes that I've been sent to from the Dogs Home most of them have lasted about a week, the longest was around a fortnight and the shortest was four days.

It feels like I've passed a milestone with NWW. So far so good.

Lets see what the next week brings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.