Diary Of A Sinner

By ArchieDog

New Home - Day Eight

My name is Archie and I am a sinner.

The weather forecast - as I'm sure you all know - was dreadful.
So, it was up sharp and off to sort out the horses before the storm hit.

It was fairly mild at first- a wee bit blustery - but just a typical dreich winter morning.
I met the shepherd for the first time today. Nippy Wee Wifie was keen for me to create a good first impression on him.
He was non commital - as usual- but pronounced me to be a "no bad wee dug".

Much activity ensued as the humans prepared for the approaching storm, tying things down and getting stores of feed under cover.
I was tied up as usual during the procedings and NWW set about cleaning the stable.

That is, untill.....

I growled and launched myself at the shepherd who was humphing sacks of sheep fed past me.
Uh oh...

NWW came tearing out of the stable to see the commotion.
Oh, no - not the pitchfork again.

I growled in fright as I saw her coming towards me, tooled up with a weapon. She realised pretty quickly.
Down went the pitchfork and out came the pointy finger. She tapped me on the head oblivious to the curled lips and exposed teeth. It wasn't a smack or a hit, just a tap to remind me that she COULD and that she was not intimidated by my snarls.

I knew the score. Down, flat. Apologetic tail wags.
The shepherd went unmolested for the rest of the morning.

Right on cue the storm hit at eleven oclock. The wind shrieked and howled, threatening to take the roof off as it rattled the corrugated metal. Trees swayed alarmingly and the horses galloped around the field, snorting and shaking their heads.
A walk in the woods was out of the question today.

Instead we went home, stoked up the stove and settled in to wait out the storm.

Pee breaks outside were hurried affairs because of flying debris. NWW kept a watchful eye on the roof tiles and chimney pots.

We didn't have to go out again in the evening to settle the horses - another hardy soul had volunteered to do that - so NWW occupied herself with some tidying up.
I assisted by hurling myself at the vacuum cleaner, trying to kill it as it growled across the carpet.
We finished the day by having a lovely game of "murder the socks" and NWW used it as a way to reinforce the "leave it" commands.

All in all, not a bad day for a sinner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.