Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

A Cup of Christmas Tea

We're enjoying a quiet evening with tea. The plural "we" is used because Chloe was sure she ought to be included. At least she is dressed for the season!

I was having a pleasant evening until I checked student emails and found one from a student who is concerned about her most recent essay score. Today I passed back the in-class essay my class wrote this past week. One female student forgot to write one complete paragraph of content that was required. I guess I was feeling generous because she did receive the lowest passing score. She wrote to explain that she had not forgot to write that paragraph in her practice drafts and thought that I ought to consider that.

I responded and politely explained that I do not grade "practice" drafts. I also explained that an essay that is missing an entire paragraph should have earned a failing score.

I'm not sure if I should laugh or cry. Critical thinking is a requirement of college students; I think it is missing with this student.

Today these same students took their final quiz. The student who thought I should consider her practice draft also failed her quiz.

I'm through looking at student emails for this night. I'm going to focus on my cup of tea.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun, and Chloe, Mitzi, and Max), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.