THE ROAD NOT TAKEN

Yesterday we passed many a good photographic opportunity amongst the snowy landscape ..... but did not stop. So this morning I decided to go out and find my own snow, but in the valiant Patsy Bluebell rather than Precious. I pointed her nose towards Malham but we must have been just on the limits of yesterday's snowfall as the only apparent whiteness was high on the hills. So we kept going. On through Malham and up.

Well, that was exciting, exhilarating even, though flipping cold on the fingers when I got out of the car to take photos. On the way up I found my snow, rather more than it looked from down in the dale, but pristine and glistening in the sunshine. It is a single track road, steep and winding between stone walls and where the road had stayed in shadow there were some icy patches. I thought I'd probably descend on the alternative route.

Until I saw the alternative route, above, and instead it became the road not taken. My little car, although cutting her teeth on Mont Blanc, was not so foolhardy and we carefully retraced our tracks back down to the village. What a beautiful ride out though. I am lucky to live in such a gorgeous place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.