Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Good Things Come in Small Packages

(I'm blipping a day late and figuring no one will read this because it is late, so I won't embarrass myself too much by including this in my journal. I just want it here for myself, so on "low" days I can come back to this message and remember that for some "the work" makes a difference. )

The classes I taught during the fall semester ended December 13th . . . then students scattered in all directions; some to prepare for another final exam, some to sell their books back to the bookstore; some to register for the winter session, and some to meet the rapidly approaching holiday.

Rarely do I hear from them again . . . unless they need a letter of recommendation or advice regarding which professor to take during a future semester. I teach writing (English composition) at the community college and most students seem to think they can't write. I think equal numbers think they cannot do math, either. So both subjects are not favorites for most students.

The class I teach is rigorous because I realize that if a student passes the class, but cannot write, he or she then fails at the next level. Most of them don't know a subject from a verb when they enter my classroom so the task is quite taunting for them. So they have mixed views about me and all that they have to do. So when I opened my professor email account and found this little message I was surprised and blessed.

Carol, I just wanted to take the time to personally tell you how much I learned from your English class. I have always taken honors literature classes and they were always too easy for me but your class has been the first course to actually challenge me. I learned so much from you and I feel like I am truly a better writer because of your class. I just wanted to thank you for pushing me so hard to succeed. I am very proud of myself for the "B" I received because I feel like I earned it rather than it just being handed to me. Thank you again. Sincerely, Jessica

I love my job, but grading papers is the most difficult aspect because I cannot simply write flowery comments and send them on their way. If I want to students to improve, I must acknowledge their errors and then teach them how to eliminate those. What I continue to learn every semester is that no one likes to have their errors recognized. It is a very delicate issue. I'm thankful for mature students like Jessica.

Even though Jessica didn't mean for this to be a Christmas gift, it is!

Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.