Annie's In Oregon

By anniescottage

Momentum

The forward momentum this star appears to have (the star looks like it's racing through the sky and all the lights are following it) is an illusion. It's really perfectly upright and is very much in the shape of a very balanced tree with a star on top.

I can only hope that the momentum we seem to have cleaning out Mother Comfort's house, preparing for new carpet, is not an illusion. I'm praying that nothing comes out of left field to interrupt the process and that everyone stays safe and well. Mother Comfort has taken on a very positive attitude adjustment and, at least at the moment, is optimistic that we really are going to get her back home. I think she had her doubts.

She is a fabulous artist, and we have located many of the sketches she did in her early 20's. Some were in preparation for wood carving, some for sculpting, some for water color, oil or china paintings. I don't think she knew the words, "I can't do that". She made clothes for her whole family, spun the wool and made their socks. Darned their socks when they got holes in them, grew a beautiful garden, quilted to make their blankets and on and on it seems. Just one of those things seems too large a task for me. I can't imagine doing as many of them as she did, but then, 92 years is quite a bit of time to accomplish some things. Never the less, I'm over half way, and it looks like I'll not be learning to knit socks any time soon! (or most of those other things either!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.