Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

If the clothes fit ...

I've had this sweatshirt for a few years (having purchased it in Disneyland Paris during the era of younger children and family holidays) and at the time it seemed like a good laugh. Then it disappeared only to be found buried at the bottom of a pile of junk in the garage where it had obviously been casually discarded during a gym session that got too sweaty even for a sweatshirt.

I've grown into it now.

Am I really grumpy? No, it's just a joke, a pandering to middle age male stereotypes. I'm many sided, a bit of a praline personality - often charming, always nutty. occasionally tough, inclined to fudge at times, in overall terms sweet but not to everyone's liking. The closest I come to grumpy is growling, and in any case at six foot three or very near I am certainly not a person of restricted growth.

Today was okay despite the return to work. Mrs St Roud was a bit of a pain as usual, always nit picking and demanding, but I can't help liking her - she would have made a good female stand-up comedienne. Deadpan Dora or something, she's SO dry. The Boss was like a zombie with piles, so no change there, and everyone else was having the "how was it for you" conversations. I often feel like going back to work in January wearing a t-shirt that says "yes I had a nice Christmas, new year was okay, how was yours, not that I really care, can we just pretend it never happened I am so depressed it's January for christ's sake!!!" (now that is grumpy).

Brilliant sunrise, dappled red, but cold tonight. Aged P rang in distress again at 8am. "Put the kettle on mum. It got us through the blitz and you'll feel better with a cup of tea". She is so forgetful she doesn't remember I wasn't there with her (and in fact probably thinks I was).

TSM dropped into the office on the way back from Brighton and came home with me which was lovely. Really made me happy. And the Girl Racer made me veggie meatballs and spaghetti (pouring red wine on her Uggs in the process) which was absolutely lovely - delicious in fact.

I'm a lucky man. Even if I am a little bit grumpy at times, I know it's true ...





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.