michigan man

By outdoorguy

God Light...Man Light

God made 2 great lights-the greater light to govern the day and the lesser light to govern the night. Genisis 1:16

It seems like that no matter how far we have advanced with exterior illumination...nothing can compare to the moon. It calms us...it soothes us...it makes us aware of our smallness. Plus...unlike the sun...you can stare at it for hours.

3 people called me last night to tell me to go outside and take a shot of the moon. What they don't understand is that I have to wait for it to rise above the buildings, the houses, and the trees. I went out about 9:30, and took 10 shots.

This shot was taken at 8 a.m. today as I was pulling into the hospital. Sunrise to my back...moonset to my front. I wish I would have given myself a little more time.

3 moon songs sprang into my head.
1. Moon River by Andy Williams
2.When the moon hits your eye like a big pizza pie...that's amore... by Dean Martin.
3. When the moon is in the 7th house, and Jupiter aligns with Mars...by the 5th Dimension

Moon River won out. For the next 2 hours...wheeling around the hallways...I couldn't get it out of my head...trying to hum very softly. If the doctor noticed...he didn't say anything.

Nice lunch today with some old Post Office retirees, and one current employee. She couldn't believe that it actually used to be a fun place to work. To anybody who'll listen...out of my 36 years...25 were fun. Then it got to be a job. Like a lot of corporations...too much talk of the "bottom line."

We took a nice walk in the nature preserve at sunset. First time we can ever remember walking there in January. Not a flake of snow on the ground. Strange.

Two drifters...off to see the world...
There's such a lot of world to see. (AMEN)
We're after the same rainbows end...waitin round the bend...my huckleberry (?) friend...Moon River...and me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.