Roll With It

By Falmike

It Was Me

The sun shone this afternoon and whilst not hot it was warm enough to be outside in a 'Fred Perry' top and 'Hi-Vis' vest. On an industrial site Elf 'N' Safety expect to see walkways and zebra crossings and all sorts of things so taking advantage of the weather and that the ground had dried out off I went.

Thirty-five years in the Navy taught me many things, amongst them;
How to drink a lot of alcohol
How to swear a lot
How to appear busy
Eat when you can
Sleep when you can

However I also learnt that no matter what your rank no job is beneath you so safe in the knowledge that the Engineering Team could cope with whatever was required I took myself off armed with aerosol cans of paint, stencils and a walking stick on wheels which holds the cans and by pulling the lever sprays the paint between two wheels in a straight line. I found it very theraputic and despite the two dozen or so poor Rolf Harris impersonations all saying "Can you tell what it is yet?", plus the two dozen more saying something along the lines of, "Haven't you got men to do that for you?" I didn't get annoyed. I didn't even get irked by the three who drove through the wet paint, although the temptation to use the aerosol cans of paint to write "This Way Up" along the sides of their cars was almost overwhelming.

What look like blobs of paint between the yellow lines are in fact very tasteful stencilled "Pedestrian Route" signs, but as almost 50% of the workforce does not have English as their first language this may prove ineffective. The slight 'wave' in the yellow line came when I sneezed whilst in full flow, however only our noisy 'flying egg whisks' from Culdrose will be able to see!!

I enjoyed my afternoon in the sun and the next time there is anymore external painting to do Mick 'Banksie' Stevens will be there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.