Always inconstant...

By bikeyPete

A cold mount.

A frosty morning greeted me, the car all white, the Green in front of the house pale and sparkly. The moon was surrounded by haze and the stars shone in all their wonder and my breath hung in the air.....wonderful.

I was meeting a friend after work so I drove to his house and parked up, got my bike out of the car and began peddling. Eye watering cold nipped at my fingers as well as my face.

Stop.... the sky began to lighten. A pinky glow heralded the start of dawn. I got off my bike and pushed it to the top of Castle mount, not very high for other places but this being Cambridge....huge!

The next half hour was wonderful, I sat and watched the day begin, slowly the birds sang the sky alive, then took flight to show their joy in it. My hands were cold, my ears more so, my heart on the other hand was a furnace, fully aglow.

When a day starts like this......well you can guess the rest.....yep! another good one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.