michigan man

By outdoorguy

The Silent Guard

The high of the day here was 21 degrees F. It is now 16 F as I atttempt to type.

This soldier guards the entrance at our local cemetery. He is stationed next to a flag and flagpole, and a Civil War cannon. All three stand high on a hill.

He looked real cold today. I wondered if I could be of any assistance. I parked my truck, and ventured into the snow.

I asked..."How ya doin? Anything I can do for ya?" I got no answer back.

His hat was all scrunched up. "Can I fix your hat?' I took his silence as a yes, but the hat was frozen to his head.

His coat was halfway open. "Can I pull your coat together?" I took his silence as a yes, but the coat was frozen to his gaunt body.

His hands were exposed to the bitter cold. "Can I take your gun, and put some gloves on your hands?"

The soldier finally spoke..."YOU CAN TAKE MY GUN AWAY WHEN YOU CAN PRY IT FROM MY COLD DEAD FINGERS!!!"

I should have known he was a National Rifle Association (NRA) guy. I had visions of Rosie O'Donnell attacking me or the soldier like she did Tom Selleck, and nobody wants Rosie after you. I raised my hands in exasperation, and turned back to my waiting truck. At least...I had tried.

Speaking of soldiers...we went this afternoon, and saw the movie War Horse. Very good movie. Visually stunning. Unlike certain people...I did not close my eyes during the battle scenes...but...I did have to wipe them a couple of times. Must have been my allergies or the salt from the popcorn got in my eyes. HA!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.