People on a Bridge

By zerohour

Magnolia. Again.

What can I say; I just love these guys. It breaks my heart to know that an inevitable bout of frost will kill all of the beautiful buds and flowers. But they will be back.

I received a letter in the mail today, sent to my home address, informing me that I did not get the full position in my department. I knew that for months, of course, but as any other candidate had to get an official letter. It was an awkward experience - I see the head of the search committee daily in our department. He could have just handed it to me, or placed it in my mailbox. The standard form letter contained a priceless piece of advice - "we encourage you to review other job postings on the university website". As in: assistant professor in mechanical engineering, or equine medicine??? Bizarre... OK, that was the last time you hear about this.

Senior design studio class was, as always, fun. Two pieces to my students: 1. don't freeze up, and 2. ask for help. Some of them spent hours agonizing over barely consequential pieces (like their drawings' title blocks) instead of attacking the bigger problems head on. Others sit at their desks looking for information on the web using wrong search terms, and are frustrated over getting no results. Living and breathing people are their most powerful allies, yet they hesitate to engage them (us!).

Remember, help will be always given at Hogwarts to those who ask for it. :-)

PS. Backblip for yesterday is just a click away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.