Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

Damaged in Transit

After the trial run with a borrowed kitchen island, Cynthia decided she would like to have one of her own. I was going to make it, but during the protracted discussion/design stage (we generally don't rush into things) C found one she liked at Ikea. We don't enjoy driving to the nearest store -- it's south of Seattle -- and didn't want to make a special trip, so I ordered it online and it arrived today.

The outer wrapping of corrugated cardboard had some damage, and when I unwrapped it I saw that one corner of the box was crushed. The package had obviously been dropped. I opened the box and took out one of the end frames for inspection. It was out of square and there were gaps between the rails and the posts. I didn't bother to remove the other frame -- I could see it was also damaged. I've taken photos and notified Ikea.

I do hope this doesn't develop into a saga like the experience I had with The Workbench. I didn't document it in a blip, but there was a problem with the third bench top I received. The pilot holes for the screws used to attach the two vises weren't drilled accurately. I had to plug the holes and drill new ones. I asked for and received some compensation from the manufacturer for my work and all the frustration I'd endured.

Time for a rant -- can't anybody ship heavy packages without dropping them? UPS delivered the bench, and FedEx was the guilty party this time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.