My Day, My Life

By SixtySix66

I Am In Love With a McDonald's Girl

Before you ask, that's not a confession!

However, I WILL confess to liking Dean Friedman, American singer songwriter (he wrote I.A.I.L.W.A.M.G.) who was once banned by the BBC, not because of explicit lyrics but because they didn't want to be seen to be endorsing the fast food chain.

I suppose they could've bleeped out the offending word, as they often do with Eminem songs but then we might've wondered exactly what sort of girl he was in love with!

Those of you with longer memories (see how I didn't say OLD) may remember 'Lucky Stars', a sizeable hit for Dean, in the late 70's.

Other songs you may recognise 'Ariel' 'Lydia' (no, not the tattooed lady, that's a different Lydia) and 'Woman Of Mine'

Of course Punk was also in full swing at the same time and New Wave was in it's infancy too!

I think Dean was swamped by the musical tidal-wave but he didn't give up and go home, NO, he got back on his surfboard and rode the wave.

Not literally, but he continued to write, tour AND make records (pictured in tonights blip) he also wrote and performed music featured in the tv series BOON

He is a regular visitor to our shores and tours the length and breadth of the UK, he also performs at the Edinburgh Fringe each year for two weeks. If you've never seen him live, I recommend you go, I don't think you'd be disappointed.

He is a skilled lyricist and still sounds as he did, when we were young(er)

Dean did not bribe me in any way to say these nice things about him! :)

But if he should read this, I hope I get a free ticket to one of this years shows! ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.