astudyinscarlet

By astudyinscarlet

the gathering storm

well, ok, the gathering heavy showers, glimpsed from under my brolly this afternoon. just, y'know, go with me on this one, 'k?

the gathering storm: it doesn't officially start til tomorrow but already i hate the fringe. i want my city back from the tourists who think the city stops for everyone to enjoy the festival and so no of course i'm not in a hurry to get my shopping done and get back to work; from the yahs who think it's hilarious to go around in costume in groups of 25 and talk very loudly all the time in their braying voices; from the f*ckwits who think they'll cool just cos they're wearing a black t-shirt that says 'staff' on the back. AND NO I DON'T WANT A BLOODY FLYER.

(yes, i'm joining the wingpig school of ranting! not helped by the fact that i'm just done on day one of a five-day week that actually has 6.5 shifts in it...)

call me a masochist though, but i'm sticking to my vow of blipping the festivals for the whole of august - excluding a few days where i know i have something more interesting and more personal going on, and the few days i'm hoping to be elsewhere than edinburgh, anyway... artistic licence and all that!

EDIT: a slightly more well-tempered rant appeared here in the scotsman

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.