First hole done

This got drawn out a bit.

The roof has at least 3 holes (maybe 4 if I'm honest with myself), and this is the first one done. Essentially, cut away shingles, cut out rotten decking (there were two holes in this section), replace decking, and replace shingles.

But what was meant to be a day long job turned into 2 days of bits of working and 2 days of sitting around looking at the weather. Essentially, nearly every weather report has been wrong so rather than get this finished yesterday I've been sitting here waiting for rain, which didn't happen.

The first day got me to the point of new decking and new felt, and then I was stalled by the weather reports.

Today I just gave up, weather forecast predicted the same bad weather, but I decided just to get on with relaying the shingles. Three hours later, one tube of Black Jack roof sealant, and 36 shingles later and I'm done. Not a great job, but everything is nailed and glued down, and every nail head has a bead of sealant on it. Won't stop the roof from leaking but will slow it down.

And I'll be on the next two areas next week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.