Snippets of Life

By betho

Silver Ball

Second stop: Winchester. Via Southampton.

Pose was busy till about 2 and I'd booked an early train so i had a couple hours to kill alone in Southampton.

Actually it turned out I'd unwittingly booked my train ticket for the 11th not the 10th... except the lady at Filton Abbey Wood didn't realise, nor did the ticket man on the train. Neither did i till i couldn't get through the gate at Southampton. The guy there who let me through looked at it and was grumpy at me. I just got confused and then walked away before he could decide to make me pay a new expensive on the day fair!

But back to the point, what do you do with 2 hours alone in an unknown city? I'd suggest firstly having a snazzy smartphone and then looking up the nearest oxfam bookshop and buying a couple second hand books before finding a funky artsy cafe to have lunch while reading your book. I always see people doing this (well the second part at least) and think is that weird? But now I was the lonely lunch eater buried in a book and actually it was pretty fun. I'd also highly recommend a hummus and feta wrap with interesting salad... it was delicious.

I wondered on to Winchester and found Roseanna and we went back to hers and spent a few hours just talking about life and God and church and how people who used to be small have gotten real big all of a sudden and how we're getting pretty old really aren't we!

Then we went to a Slug and Lettuce for her friends birthday cocktails, though we didn't have any. We left after a little bit because we were poor and hungry and went home to cook omelette and wedges and pancakes! It started to snow as we were walking, and we found these giant baubles waiting to be chucked out. Far too exciting to walk past and ignore!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.