Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

All gas and gaiters

Another one from the cardboard box. I've mentioned before that my wife's grandfather seems to have been a keen photographer. Many of the photographs in the box are of an ecclesiastical nature or feature clergymen, probably not surprising as he was a distinguished clergyman himself. I'm not sure when this was taken but it says 'Redcar' on the back. Looks like a cold wet day with the vicar and his curate hurrying along to evensong. Quite why the photograph was taken I can't work out unless perhaps the characters were well known. Its one of those photographs that has been converted into a postcard so presumably the intention was to send it to someone.

It reminded me of the BBC comedy 'All gas and gaiters' (with Derek Nimmo) that was on the TV in the late 1960s. Since I didn't come to England until 1974, other than on holidays or short stops between overseas postings, my memory of the programme is probably based on the BBC World Service radio version or the occasional TV clip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.