michigan man

By outdoorguy

Bro and Sis

I went to my favorite boat launch, and found another heron nest, and maybe an osprey nest.

A woman approached me...perhaps because I was craning my neck, and pointing my camera skyward.

"What you see?"

"It's a blue heron's nest."

"I no speak English...but...if...you...talk...real...slow...I...know...some...words."

I was thinking German, but wasn't sure. I started using hand signals. "BIG BIRD...LONG BEAK...NEST!!!"

She turned on her smart phone. "You spell?" I spelled. "B-L-U-E H-E-R-O-N. Her smart phone wasn't so smart. Nothing came up. I tried using my fingers. "3 more nests over there!! More birds!! Babies!!"

She followed me over, and I showed her this brother and sister. They are what I call toddlers. Able to fly, but not ready to leave the security of the nest. She was excited to see them. As we were watching this pair...a full sized parent came over our head, and some squawking began. Loudly. "Quick...over...here...little...babies."

Mom or Dad was feeding Junior. Junior was going nuts, and so was my new friend. "WEE...WEE...WEE!!! I spoke up..."There is no bathroom here! Only a porta-potty!!! It was then that I caught on. Not German...but French. "YES...YES...YES," she was saying. If she was excited to see bro and sis, she was REALLY excited to see parent and chick...as was I.

I got 1 good shot of the young chick. Way too high, and way too hidden, but still fun to watch. I said Au Revoir to my new friend, and departed. She seemed like a nice madomaiselle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.