Mansefield Memories

By Calder

'Rab and his Friends'

These dolls are the characters in a very famous story of the 19th century. The tale is told of James and Ailie and their dog Rab. It is a sad Victorian little book, much loved by it's readers, written by Dr John Brown and was published in many languages all around the world. There is a memorial to them in the old Kirkyard in Penicuik, Midlothian Scotland. Where you will find the dog 'Rab' portrayed on the old ruined kirk wall.
The people in the true story were John and Margaret Jackson. John was known as the ' Howgate Carrier' and travelled in and out of Edinburgh's Grassmarket on Tuesdays and Fridays. How do I know this? They were my ancestors on my mothers side five generations ago from me.
The dolls were especially made for me and taken from the illustrations in the book.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.