The cost of making it up as you go along - $47

Miserable old day today, but got stuck in with getting the front cow pen done.

If your new to my Blip then check back for the rear cow pen and you'll get the drift.

One nagging problem has been what to do with the top level of these new horizontal pieces. I've made them a little higher than the existing rail, and it makes a nice lip on the existing rail, but the wrap around wood effect doesn't work so easy.

But today I managed to buy the incorrect wood (again), and whilst chatting to the wife after lunch she suggested that because the original horizontal rails are just not level, that we put a piece on top and make the top one far more substantial. I'll have pictures tomorrow which will show this better.

So that's the plan, use the wrong wood that I have to do the top layer, and buy the extra we need for it.

Then - we discussed the back deck and whether we shouldn't box off the top rail again.

At first we decided not to. 15 minutes later, my wife decided otherwise.

More wood bought and this will all be completed tomorrow. (And tomorrow, worryingly, I have to make pieces properly fit, eg cut out (accurately) bits of the timber). This can only end well.

If you are wondering whether the rail going to the stair rail is level - it's not. It may be retiring tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.