The Little Lyle Files

By kevinwatters

Childhood Home

Between the ages of 7 and 11, this was my home in Inverkip overlooking the Firth of Clyde.

My dad built the house almost single-handed but unfortunately we had to move when his business went under. I look at the house now and it looks so small, yet I thought it was huge.

I loved living here and was devastated when we left, so have enjoyed coming back since my parents moved back to Inverkip 13 years ago.

Our house was the first on the road so we watched other houses being built when we lived there.

I learned to ride a bike on this road (and it wasn't as well covered as it is now).

I had my first snog two houses up the road.

I even discovered the 'F' word in a builders' hut on this road.

Happy days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.