Scharwenka

By scharwenka

Ramshackle Buildings

Another lovely day, at least in the afternoon.

I would not think these old farm buildings particularly photogenic in the ordinary way, but they seemed to glow when lit by a rather low sun.

The buildings are very close to where we live. There is a footpath through the fields behind our house that leads past this place. This is the view beyond the farm buildings, and it will show how low the sun was. The shadow is, in fact, that of the buildings in the main picture.

Incidentally, I resized this picture to be 640 × 480 px before uploading it. The file size is just 95 kB. I normally use a file of 1632 × 1224 px (and usually with a jpg compression factor of 20) for uploading, already resized from the camera output. I realise that BlipFoto automatically reduces the size further, and have seen it written that the dimensions along the longer edge, for non-premium users, is always 640 px. In that case, I wonder if there is a loss in image quality in the two-step process I have used: 3264 px to 1632 px on my PC, then 1632 to 640 px at BlipFoto. For sure, there is a price to pay in upload bandwidth that seems to be of no benefit whatever. I'll see how the image quality turns out, but I would be most interested to hear from other users who may have thought about this question more deeply than I have.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.