Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

How the day...

The fog was so thick enough, this morning, to cut it in blocks and store it.
I drove home slowly, at 5.30am, behind a queue of traffic travelling at 15mph.

At 8am the dogs advised me that something was going on outside.

It cost a small fortune, having waited years for planning permission, to create an eco-access into this house, to avoid having to pass through the adjacent farm.
Before pouring the cement I noticed that the tracks were too wide apart but, on mentioning it, I was curtly told that it had been measured correctly using a standard vehicle (van). The cement was poured quickly before I or my neighbours could report any further, so the damage was done.

The original man who did the work, not surprisingly, did not turn up again, but the digger driver offered that he remembered my conversation with the landscaper. They ripped through the earth to add a foot more cement, leaving a deep trough!

I had to go to Guildford. My tyre clipped the sharp edge of a baton still attached to the cement and as good as exploded. Changing a tyre is easy, if you know there is a locking nut! Women drivers aren't informed about that!

The breakdown man arrived promptly, leaving me 10 mins later with a red face. The first tyre fitters I found had a tyre. Great, say goodbye to £61.
The tyre came off and the man informed me that the treads had been damaged when the spare was fitted but, not just of the tyre. The entire hub has to be replaced. Say bye bye to another estimated £320.

The greater part of what remained of the day has been spent on the phone to Green Flag complaints department... Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.