just a Moment in the wood

By wavingarms

Look up

I took my partner to work in Inveraray and spent a pleasant and relaxing half hour wandering and clicking away.

When you're not in a place for a purpose, as a tourist or for work, you have time to spot those strange things like seagulls having conversations on chimney pots, the colours in a badly chipped doorway, someones much polished door knockers.

It was in this mood that I saw the line of quite unnecessary, but very pleasing, stone ornaments that are above the door of Inveraray Jail. I love the different colours and shades of colours and the various states of weathering.

It reminds me of a maths calendar we used to have in school. It showed the wonderful patterns, symmetries and shapes to be found in nature, human structures and architecture. I think I enjoyed the calendar more than the pupils. It reminded me to keep looking up; there's fascinating things to be seen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.