Mothers and Lambing Day 2012

2years 149days

We met Granny and Grandad to all head to the Lambing Day. Katie got to cuddle two lambs on my lap. And as she is now repeatedly saying, "lamby wee'd on Mummy". We walked round the lambing shed where I spotted my own 365. We were told there were two mother sheep potentially about to have their lambs, but that it would be quite a while. Katie wanted to lunch so we thought we'd picnic and return.

We enjoyed a picnic outside, with the sun bursting through on several occasions. We stopped at the meerkats. Katie said to them "meerkats, come to Katie's hands please". She found some good puddles to jump in on the way back to the lambing shed. We discovered that the lambs had not long been born. They were still recovering in the birthing area, mum cleaning and snuggling two gorgeous little lambs. She wanted to go stroke some more lambs, so we went to the petting area for a bit. We then headed to the nursery area, where lambs who were to be adopted by other sheep, or some to be hand reared were cared for. Katie liked standing there as she just looked cute, occasionally saying "I want to get one lamby" or "my stroke lamby's head" and someone seemed to bring her a lamb to stroke.

As we were stood there, I saw a crowd gathering around one pen. I managed to get myself in enough to see a mother sheep attempting to deliver a breech lamb. As it was looking like a lengthy delivery, they got a lamb that needed a mother and instigated an adoption. The lamb was delivered safely, and the adoptee was smothered in all the gunk. I got to the mother sheep being given her babies, and accepting them both without hesitation. It was rather lovely.

We left the lambing area, stopped to say hello to the pigs and some more sheep, before we went to the small rodents and the reptiles. Katie rather liked the tortoises. She talked to some hares for a little while and ate a snack watching some tropical fish.

We've come home for tea with Granny and Grandad, before which Katie and Granny are watching the new Muppet DVD that Katie bought her. She's been a delight all day, and today's been a reminder to me just how blessed I am to be a Mummy, and particularly to my little Katie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.