Family Dog

By Family_Dog

here come the boys....

There are some babies in this world who you could literally spread on toast and munch munch munch due to their utter cuteness and general charm...

This baby is one of them! His name is Ryan and he is one day younger than Arlo. I met him (and his gorgeous Mummy) on the maternity ward and am delighted we've all kept in touch.

Ryan is the chuckliest baby I've ever met. From the minute he was born he had a huge head of hair and an expression on his face that looked like he was in the middle of telling a really funny story. He is a delight, as is his Mummy who accompanied me and Arlo to the cinema to see Mama Mia at the mother & baby showing.

I always thought I'd shy away from meeting mummies and babies - I'm not really a 'joiner', especially not a joiner of groups and especially not a joiner of groups when the only thing that holds you together is the fact that you've all had babies. Obviously I think it's a great thing for people if that's what they're into and I've got lots of friends who literally thrived in that setting and good for them but as much as you won't believe it, I am a bit shy and a bit rubbish and FORTUNATELY have friends with babies so it wasn't something I felt I MUST do.

Anyway - there are a few lovely girls I meet up with (hello Anna and Erwan!) and my chums from way back - Clare and Lynne and Heather and I thought that would be enough. Fortunately, there is always enough room in the 'Friendship Inn' (I know, I am so cheesy sometimes) and I met Thembie.

I really enjoy meeting up with her - as our babes are so close in age, we compare notes on the boys, how each other's doing certain things, what advice we've been given by the constantly elusive and desperately annoying health visitors and generally we just chit chat and have a laugh.

I love the fact that she has seen me in a way that nobody else ever has and vice versa. The day she came in from having Ryan, once her mum and husband left for the night & Bryan and all my visitors left it was just us and our babies. I remember being awake in the middle of the night when it was quiet and dark (well, babies were crying and the lights were dimmed - it was the hospital after all!) and looking across the room and seeing Thembie holding her tiny little bundle in her arms, gazing at him with wonder - a huge smile across her face. We looked after each other's babies when we needed a shower and when I couldn't get Arlo to stop crying and went for a little walk around the room she whispered me words of encouragement.

Simply the fact that she was there made it seem so much more peaceful and lovely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.